The Desires of Your Heart

Psalm 37:3-4

Trust in the Lord and do good; dwell in the land and cultivate faithfulness.

Delight yourself in the LORD; and He will give you the desires of your heart. (NASB)

I don’t know about you, but sometimes, I find myself questioning, “What really is my heart’s true desire?”

This morning, during my quiet time, I was focused on this scripture, and as I read I sensed the Holy Spirit saying ‘Do good, that I should be happy with what I’ve been given, and that it’s important for me to keep growing in my Christian walk. A walk that portrays a life journey where my heart and soul know that I can win, in this race called life, and I can do it for the glory of my Lord, Jesus Christ.

I’ve been a Christian long enough to know what that means. But, continue asking, “Why do I always seem to be just going through the motions and not surrendering all my choices to fully embrace God’s word? And, “What is it that seems to get in my way of having the heart for more intimacy with Jesus?”

How have I become so apathetic to ignore His pleas only to take delight in what’s temporary and rationalize that ‘I’ll be okay when I get that old-familiar feel-good feeling of a real job to pay for what I think my heart’s desire is, a new car, hardwood floors, furniture, or a new mattress.’ We Christians like to call this materialism. Then, I think, is this old worn out orb that we all live on, along with all its evil, child abuse, civil disobedience, suffering, and torture, worth it? Is this all we have to live for? God’s word says,

I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.”John 16:33 (NLT)

I do believe that my struggle with this question is just one of Satan’s ploys to keep from basking in the intimacy that only Christ can give me. My relentless adversary likes to smack me down with “He doesn’t want anything to do with you! Or, “You’re not good enough. Remember when…It’s a waste of your time! Get busy with something else!” The list of assaults goes on and on…

…that’s when it’s time to close my office door and insert my CD of Mercy Me’s, The Hurt and the Healer. God meets me in the words of that song and my soul gets lost in complete surrender at the awesomeness of my Savior. My spirit is renewed and finally, I’m at peace because I know that I’m kneeling at the feet, or resting in the arms of the One who gave His life for me.

You know what? He’s given His life for you too!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. securelyheld
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 20:00:28

    Amen, Cheryl!

    Like

    Reply

  2. PeachyGirl
    Feb 04, 2015 @ 22:07:56

    More stuff is just a temporary fix. A distraction from the work God has for us. We have to somehow find contentment outside of our situations or position.

    Not that I speak from want, for I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am. I know how to get along with humble means, and I also know how to live in prosperity; in any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of being filled and going hungry, both of having abundance and suffering need. Philippians 4: 11-12

    Paul spoke of having learned to be content in all circumstances – even being hungry and suffering need. His contentment was not determined by that moment in life – but he had his eyes fixed on the prize and was running the race set before him. I think that if we really keep our eyes fixed on what God has called us to do, we can find contentment there. When we have our eyes on ourselves, we will always be discontent.

    Like

    Reply

    • madenewinjesus
      Feb 05, 2015 @ 11:05:14

      Dear PeachyGirl,

      You are so right on. I think that I’m not alone in that it seems that I forget about the detail of keeping my eyes fixed on what God has called me to do.
      And, that is exactly where I find contentment. When I focus on my own discontent and desires of this world, that where I falter.

      Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I need these words as gentle reminders of my worth in God’s eyes.
      Blessings…

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

