Voices

A parental voice from my childhood repeats, like a broken record. “You’re nobody!” or, “You’ll never be anything!”

I answer, “Don’t listen Child of the King! God knows who I am.”

I’m reminded of the scripture verse in 1 Corinthians 2:12.

I’ve have not received the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, so that I may understand what God has freely given to me. And, verse 15, “The spiritual man makes judgments about all things, but he himself is not subject to any man’s judgement:
For, in verse 16, God’s Word says “For who has known the mind of the Lord that he may instruct him?” But, I have the mind of Christ.”

Take that, evil one! Flee from me! My mind belongs to the One who created me.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Voices | Judy C. Hope
  2. Bob Povenz
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 12:53:09

    I contend that NOTHING is more important in our lives than the voices to which we listen…and don’t listen. That discrimination and emotional maturity directs your energy. You become what you feed.

    Like

    Reply

    • madenewinjesus
      Aug 11, 2014 @ 17:13:40

      Yes, Bob. The voice of the evil one can be a hard one to discern. But, I know who I am, and refuse to listen to the voices of the past. I have so much more to look forward to. Thank you for all of your support! I miss you and Joy!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

